Friday, December 16, 2011

The Truth about Life Post Delivery

I cannot believe that I'm going to write this.

This is TMI to the max.

If you are a guy, you should probably skip this post.

However, I'm going to share about this because NO ONE warned me about what happens AFTER delivery.

People warn you about the epidural, the contractions, the love you will immediately feel for your child, but no one prepares you for what is to come during the first few weeks at home.

For example-- remember how RAD it was that you didn't have your period for 10 months? Well, after you have a baby you have the equivalent of 10 periods in one day and this bloody mess can last for up to 6 weeks. I was warned to buy pads, but I didn't think I'd have to live in them for 4+ weeks. Seriously, do you know how appealing it is to use your sons diaper rash cream after you've lived in a pad for 28 days (that is a joke- I didn't actually use it)? TMI, I know. But I really wish that someone had warned me for just how bloody things would be following birth and delivery. Consider yourself warned soon to be mamas and invest in puppy pee pads (they seriously make you lay on them in the hospital the entire time you are there), depends and/or huge pads. Steal the mesh underwear and ask for more before you leave.

Another warning- Don't look down for a long time. A deflated baby bump is depressing and ugly. Your stomach will look and move like a jello jiggler. I didn't expect to look hot in the stomach area immediately following birth, but I was not expecting the sheer magnitude of the jiggliness.

Also, the baby blues. I heard about them, but that shit is no joke. I'm not a crier. Having a baby turned me into a crier. I cried fifty times a day for the first few weeks. I cried because John looked at me, I cried because John didn't look at me, I cried because I put on my seatbelt, I cried because I was eating cookies. I cried because I loved my son so incredibly much. I honestly thought I was on the fast track to crazy town. I am here to tell you that it does go away, and that I can get through a day without crying (WAHOO), but don't be surprised if you are an emotional mess after birth.

Child birth is no joke. If you weren't emotional about it it would be weird. Thankfully, childbirth amnesia is a real thing (and probably why no one warns you about the blood, ugly stomach and tears- they forgot about it). Nowadays, I tell my birth story with a huge goofy grin on my face and I'd do it again tomorrow!

Thank god for pregnancy amnesia.

17 comments:

hotpants™ said...

Yes, yes and yes!

Giant pads, giant panties and Tucks medicated pads... who would've thought I'd nearly own stock in all of those things.

Melissa said...

Yup!

Postpartum hormones are no joke. I was a crazy bitch for weeks and weeks. I cried over the dumbest stuff!

Here's my TMI advice to throw in: If you had a vaginal delivery, DO NOT look "down there" anytime remotely close to when you gave birth. I looked right before my 6 weeks checkup and wish I hadn't. Horrifying. It won't look normal for months.

Amy said...

I totally agree with you! No one warns you about the other stuff after having a baby! The bleeding never stopped! That was probably the worse part of having the baby haha! I am on the same page you are! My baby is 6 weeks old! Then once it stops bleeding suprise your period comes! Man I did not MISS that!!! I am ready to get pregnant again so I don't have to have it HAHA :-) Hope all is well with you and your cute little one!:-)

Emily @ Journey to the Center of Manhattan said...

so good to know - thank you for your honesty!!!

Dancy said...

I really do love how honest you are about all this. I'm serious when I say I will come back & read these posts whenever I get pregnant (and uhh prolly email you like a zillion stupid Q's I'll probably be too embarrassed to ask my friends - you've been forewarned. LOL)

Nap Mom said...

Favorite quote of the day: "Steal the mesh underwear and ask for more before you leave."

Good one!

Caroline @healthyroad said...

I seriously cried when all this happen and said.."why didn't anyone tell me about this?" I had some serious tearing with my first, it was my biggest fear in the world to have to poop...no one told me about how bad that would be. But obviously the amnesia is strong...because I am on number 3.

mmjiaxin said...

coach outlet online
nike kobe sneakers
yeezy boost 350
fitflops sale clearance
cheap air jordan
Cheap Jordans For Sale
retro jordans
ray ban sunglasses
tiffany and co uk
mlb jerseys authentic
tiffany,tiffany and co,tiffany and co jewelry,tiffany necklace,tiffany bracelet,tiffany ring,tiffany earrings
tiffany and co outlet online
yeezy boost 350
michael kors outlet store
http://www.raybanglasses.in.net
cheap basketball shoes
tiffany & co
huarache shoes
Cheap NFL Jerseys China
nike huarache
nike polo
http://www.cheap-airjordans.us.com
michael kors outlet store
oakley sunglasses
tiffany online
gg

Chen Zhiqin said...

cleveland browns jersey
atlanta falcons jerseys
jordan 13
houston texans jerseys
tennessee titans jerseys
new york giants jerseys
celine outlet online
marc jacobs
lacoste pas cher
air jordan 11
cleveland browns jerseys
arizona cardinals jerseys
kansas city chiefs jerseys
miami heat
oakland raiders jerseys
arizona cardinals jersey
bears jerseys
san francisco 49ers jersey
nike mercurial
green bay packers jersey
chicago blackhawks
philadelphia eagles jerseys
giuseppe zanotti shoes
abercrombie and fitch
nike outlet store
nike trainers
carolina panthers jerseys
saints jerseys
jets jersey
tennessee titans jersey
new york knicks
minnesota vikings jersey
boston celtics jersey
bills jerseys
golden state warriors jersey
czq20160711

dong dong23 said...

timberland boots
adidas originals
kate spade handbags
replica watches
ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet
ugg slippers
ray ban sunglasses uk
kevin durant shoes
longchamp handbags
ray ban sunglasses
true religion jeans
michael kors outlet online
ray ban pas cher
louis vuitton
moncler uk
nike air max pas cher
pandora jewelry
timberland outlet
ralph lauren
ugg boots
michael kors outlet
ugg boots
mlb jerseys
coach outlet
nike basketball shoes
abercrombie and fitch
nhl jerseys
michael kors outlet
ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet
juicy couture
coach outlet
uggs on sale
louis vuitton
louis vuitton handbags
coach outlet store online
louis vuitton outlet stores
michael kors outlet clearance
ralph lauren uk
20168.23wengdongdong

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

千禧 Xu said...

michael kors outlet
nike store uk
chaussure louboutin
michael kors outlet
polo ralph lauren outlet
nike tn
michael kors handbags
fitflops sale clearance
nike tn pas cher
air max 90

chenmeinv0 said...

ray ban clubmaster
adidas outlet
ralph lauren polo
prada handbags
coach factory outlet
ralph lauren outlet online
christian louboutin
puma outlet
air max 90
louis vuitton purses
20172.17chenjinyan

xumeiqing said...

lebron james shoes
christian louboutin
ralph lauren sale clearance
sac longchamp pas cher
fitflops
cheap oakley sunglasses
true religion outlet
polo ralph lauren outlet
ralph lauren uk
san francisco giants jerseys
20170316huazhen

龙大猫 said...

michael kors outlet
yeezy shoes
air force 1
adidas yeezy boost
authentic jordans
yeezy sneakers
yeezy boost 350
true religion jeans
adidas stan smith
longchamp

اميرة زماني said...


شركة تنظيف خزانات بمكة
شركة تنظيف منازل بالقطيف
شركة تنظيف منازل بالاحساء
شراء اثاث مستعمل بالرياض
افضل شركة تنظيف كنب بالرياض

اميرة زماني said...


شركة رش مبيدات بحائل
شركة تنظيف موكيت شرق بالرياض

و افضل شركة نظافة بالطائف
افضل شركة تنظيف بالرياض